Zimbabwe Thinks Ahead

In an effort to facilitate travel, and unlock the potential of the tourism industry, Zimbabwe announced a revised visa regime which will issue a Visa on Arrival (VOA) for 28 countries.

The government of Zimbabwe announced the exciting changes to their visa requirements during the National Tourism Strategy Workshop in Victoria Falls. Among the 28 countries moved from Visa Required to Visa on Arrival include India, Mexico, Ethiopia, Romania, Panama, and Armenia. Department of Immigration Principal Director, Clement Masango said the changes are with immediate effect.

The country’s government seeks to move away from the tendency of most African countries, where almost two-thirds of the world’s population must obtain visas before entry, recently discussed Zimbabwe Vice President, Rtd. Gen. Constantino Chiwenga.

“Zimbabwe should take advantage of the international community’s confidence in the new administration to market the country as a preferred destination for tourists and investors,” Chiwenga said. Zimbabwe Tourism Authority said a full list of the countries would be made available soon, while all citizens from member states of the regional block, Southern Africa Development Corporation (SADC) will henceforth be issued visas on arrival.

These recent changes come during a time in Africa, where the momentum of unity is strong. The African Union recently launched the Single African Air Transport Market (SAATM), the first step in implementation of continent-wide visa free regimes.  The new AU chairperson, Paul Kagame, has said that “Free Movement” for Africans is achievable in 2018. Kagame who now takes on the mantle for steering the AU forward indicated that women, and the youth, would play key roles in implementing the African Prosperity Agenda.

What is your opinion on the unison of the African countries, and creating a United States of Africa?





Share post
The Passport Index logo
visa status

Most recent report

PI 2021 Q4 REPORT - Cover

Most Recent Posts